Dr. John Raible has a blog, “John Raible Online,” that supports the transracial adoption community. His August 9, 2011 posts is particularly compelling. Here’s an excerpt:

I am no longer willing to stifle conversation about topics that matter to me—race, adoption, racism, oppression, homophobia, heterosexism, white supremacy, patriarchy, sexism, classism, adultism, youth liberation, and social justice.

I am no longer willing to let others define the topic of conversation because it too often results in my marginalization and invisibility. I am no longer willing to tolerate racist comments and ignorant perspectives about the communities I belong to. I am no longer willing to take care of dominant individuals as they squirm in discomfort when my mere presence agitates them. I am no longer willing to subsume my needs for respect and acceptance, for freedom. I am no longer willing to hide who I am. I am no longer willing to censor my voice. I am no longer willing to put up with the fear and resentment of others who have more power than me, and whose privilege comes at my expense.

Click here to read more.

